Building the Next Generation of Marine Scientists and Policy Makers for Coastal and Marine Ecosystem Conservation in West Africa

WASCAL Program in Cabo Verde

The implementation of the West African Science Centre on Climate Change and Adapted Land Use (WASCAL) Program in Cabo Verde began on August 14, 2019, with the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between WASCAL and the University of Cabo Verde. This initiative followed the signing of Cabo Verde's adhesion letter to WASCAL by the Minister of Education, representing the Cabo Verde government, on January 27, 2017, ratified through Resolution No. 104/IX/2019 on February 13. The final approval took place during a WASCAL ministerial council meeting held in Accra on July 30, 2019.

The WASCAL team in Cabo Verde initiate activities in August 2019, striving to set up requirements for the major WASCAL initiative in the country, the Master’s Research Program on Climate Change & Marine Sciences (MRP-CCMS). The opening- ceremony for the program's first edition in the 2019-2020 academic year occurred on November 28. Later, the initial batch of students commenced their training at the Institute of Engineering and Marine Sciences (ISECMAR) in Cabo Verde on January 27, 2020. During that time, the institute was in process of being relocated to the newly established public university, the Atlantic Technical University (UTA).

WASCAL Mission

To provide information and knowledge at the local, national, and regional levels to its West African member countries to cope with the adverse impacts of climate change and devise integrated mid and long-term options to build up resilient and productive socio-ecological landscapes. We do this through capacity building and environmental services in West Africa.


WASCAL seeks to become one of Africa’s leading science-based institutions in the provision of climate services in and for West Africa.

Master Program

The Master Research Program on Climate Change and Marine Sciences (MRP-CCMS) in Cabo Verde is hosted by the Institute of Engineering and Marine Sciences (ISECMAR) at the Atlantic Technical University (UTA). This master’s program is implemented under close partnership with the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, the University of Kiel and the Thünen Institute (Hamburg) as German partners and IMAR (Institute of the Sea), as the national partner.

The MRP-CCMS aims to create critical mass in the fields of climate science, marine science, and marine and coastal management in West Africa. The program ensures students receive interdisciplinary knowledge transfer and develop technical skills to better understand coastal and ocean ecosystems and their interconnectedness in this region. With theoretical knowledge and applied skills, students are able to develop solution-oriented projects in the said areas, in a context of climate change, in the region and globally.

Continue Reading

News and Stories

Photo by: Clovis Maforikan

WASCAL Cabo Verde Fourth Batch Student Investigates Mangrove Restoration in Côte d'Ivoire

In the search for nature-based solutions for successful mangrove ecosystem restoration operations using plantations, our student from the Fourth Batch, Mr. Khévine Robaverge Mahougnon Djogli and his peers have undertaken a study exploring the importance of mangroves in tropical coastal areas, with a particular focus on restoration efforts in Côte d'Ivoire.

Member Countries

The West African Science Centre on Climate Change and Adapted Land Use (WASCAL) Program was funded by the Germany and 10 West African Countries in 2012. Cabo Verde joined this international research center in 2019, and Guinea became part of it in 2023.

WASCAL, serves as a beacon of collaborative efforts aimed at bolstering research, fostering innovation, and implementing robust adaptation strategies. With a strong commitment to scientific excellence and regional cooperation, WASCAL empowers West African nations to tackle the multifaceted challenges posed by climate change.


  • Germany

  • Benin

  • Burkina Faso

  • Cabo Verde

  • Côte d’Ivoire

  • The Gambia

  • Ghana

  • Guinea

  • Mali

  • Niger

  • Nigeria

  • Sénégal

  • Togo